Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Bishops say leave result should be respected 12 World news Pope: we must ask forgiveness for our treatment of gay people 16 News focus Why the Church may miss Cameron as Prime Minister

Comment 19 Notebook I voted leave, says Ed West, and now I feel sick to my stomach 20 Cover story Catholic life is changing fast, says Damian Thompson. Parishes must keep up or die out 23 Comment Tim Stanley explains why he was mistaken for a spy in a cathedral confessional 24 Feature Arab Catholics are in uproar over two new appointments, says Jill, Duchess of Hamilton 25 Comment Ron Belgau on the right way for Catholics to respond to Orlando 26 Feature Matthew Schmitz is impressed by English Catholicism’s vitality 28 Feature Jonathan Wright says the portrayal of Catholics on TV can be painful

A new springtime for Christianity in England? Page 26

✣ / /

The Church must get ready for Boris as PM Page 16

What The West Wing got right about Catholicism Page 28

29 Comment Britain is the victim of casino capitalism, says MaryKenny 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 33 Arts Robert Tanitch enjoys Ralph Fiennes’s virtuoso villainy in Richard III 34 Books John M Rist finds a strange weakness at the heart of Roger Scruton’s philosophy 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus says that only Catholic culture can bind Europe together 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Stuart Reid debates Brexit with a pipe-smoking young fogey 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser reminds us that ‘me first’ goes against the Gospel Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content