Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Bishop Egan to overhaul marriage preparation 12 World news Motu proprio removes powers from Cardinal Pell 16 News focus Why the Pope has chosen a former Fox News reporter as his new spokesman

Comment 19 Notebook Dull Whitehall was once the wildest place in London, says Harry Mount 20 Cover story So which way should the priest face? Fr Mark Drew suggests a compromise 23 Comment Ann Widdecombe on why it’s OK not to vote for a Christian 24 Feature Masses in Jamaica have the fervour of Revivalist meetings, says Ian Thomson 25 Comment The Theresa May I know, by Tim Montgomerie 26 Feature William Doino confronts the sin the Church fears denouncing 28 Culture wars Robert Wargas says reality is finally catching up with our political elites

What kind of a Christian is Theresa May? Page 25

✣ / /

Pope launches quiet revolution in the Vatican press office Page 16

Why politicans’ children do matter Page 44

29 Comment Andrea Leadsom was the victim of a vile social media campaign, says Mary Kenny 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Television Tim Stanley says a new spy comedy shows the French are just as deluded as we are 34 Books Jack Scarisbrick on a historian’s dazzling but dogmatic take on the Reformation 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus thanks Napoleon for the papal car 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Let’s celebrate both celibacy and parenthood, says Melanie McDonagh 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser names the true cause of polarisation Cover image: Cardinal Sarah celebrates Mass at the London Oratory last week (Fr Lawrence Lew, OP)

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content