Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Current Archaeology 224 (Vol XIX, No. 8) November 2008 Editorial Editor: Lisa Westcott lisa@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5585 Features Editor: Neil Faulkner neil@archaeology.co.uk News Editor: Christopher Catling chris@archaeology.co.uk Art Editor: Mark Edwards mark@archaeology.co.uk Additional design: Andy Bunyan Sub Editor: Caitlin McCall caitlin@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5574 Publisher: Robert Selkirk robert@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5581 Advertising Manager: Libby Selkirk libby@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5582 Current Publishing, Barley Mow Centre 10 Barley Mow Passage, London W4 4PH Tel: 08456 44 77 07 (office hours) Fax: 08456 44 77 08 web: www.archaeology.co.uk Editor-in-Chief: Andrew Selkirk 9 Nassington Road, London NW3 2TX andrew@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5584 Subscriptions Current Archaeology is published monthly for a subscription of £38 for 12 issues. Foreign subscriptions £48. Subscriptions should be sent to: Current Publishing, Barley Mow Centre 10 Barley Mow Passage, London W4 4PH Tel: (office hours): 08456 44 77 07 or 020 8819 5580 Fax: 08456 44 77 08 Subs queries to: subs@archaeology.co.uk or online at: www.archaeology.co.uk Back issues: £4 each / £5 non-UK Binders: (holds 12 copies) £10 / £12 Slip Cases: (holds 12 copies) £12 / £14 Printed by St Ives Unauthorised reproduction in whole or part is prohibited without written permission. The publisher, editor and authors accept no responsibility in respect of any products, goods or services which may be advertised or referred to in this issue. Every effort has been made to secure permission for copyright material. In the event of any material being used inadvertently or where it has proved impossible to trace the copyright owner, acknowledgement will be made in a future issue. 250908185

Contents

18 18

26 26

20

18

Dark secrets of the arena revealed

Major new excavations at Chester have re-examined earlier projects and refined our understanding of Roman Britain’s largest amphitheatre. Additionally, new excavations in fresh ground, where the Roman remains were undisturbed, have turned up Britain's first evidence for the stalls and vendors that were all part of a day out at the games. We report on how the dig has challenged previous interpretations as well as shed new light on how central the bloody games were to Romano-British life.

26

Harnessing the tides

Close to the ruins of the Medieval monastery of Nendrum on Strangford Lough in Northern Ireland, the chance discovery of a tiny fragment of granite millstone and a sherd of late 7th century pottery has led archaeologists to the world’s oldest known excavated tide mill. But for those eleventh-hour discoveries, the chance to gain new insights into the economy of an early medieval monastery would have been lost. We have the fascinating details.

2

archaeologycurrent 224

Skip to main content