Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Current Archaeology 226 (Vol XIX, No. 10) January 2009 Editorial Editor: Lisa Westcott lisa@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5585 Features Editor: Neil Faulkner neil@archaeology.co.uk News Editor: Christopher Catling chris@archaeology.co.uk Art Editor: Mark Edwards mark@archaeology.co.uk Sub Editor: Caitlin McCall caitlin@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5574 Publisher: Robert Selkirk robert@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5581 Advertising Manager: Libby Selkirk libby@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5582 Current Publishing, Lamb House, Church Street, London W4 2PD Tel: 08456 44 77 07 (office hours) Fax: 08456 44 77 08 web: www.archaeology.co.uk Editor-in-Chief: Andrew Selkirk 9 Nassington Road, London NW3 2TX andrew@archaeology.co.uk 020 8819 5584 Subscriptions Current Archaeology is published monthly for a subscription of £38 for 12 issues. Foreign subscriptions £48. Subscriptions should be sent to: Current Publishing, Lamb House, Church Street, London W4 2PD Tel: (office hours): 08456 44 77 07 or 020 8819 5580 Fax: 08456 44 77 08 Subs queries to: subs@archaeology.co.uk or online at: www.archaeology.co.uk Back issues: £4 each / £5 non-UK Binders: (holds 12 copies) £10 / £12 Slip Cases: (holds 12 copies) £12 / £14 Printed by St Ives Unauthorised reproduction in whole or part is prohibited without written permission. The publisher, editor and authors accept no responsibility in respect of any products, goods or services which may be advertised or referred to in this issue. Every effort has been made to secure permission for copyright material. In the event of any material being used inadvertently or where it has proved impossible to trace the copyright owner, acknowledgement will be made in a future issue. 241108185

Contents

14 14

20 20

20

14

The London Style Painted plaster from Roman Britain is invariably found in secondary deposits, both too fragmented and too incomplete to reassemble. But Museum of London archaeologists, digging in the basement of a former sandwich shop and pizzeria in Lime Street, London, have come across a staggering pile of painted plaster in situ at the base of the wall it once covered. The quality of craftsmanship and the intricate detail of the design have revealed a sumptuous lifestyle of the fashionable elite in 2nd century Londinium: could this have been the house of a high ranking Roman official?

20

Fylindales Moor When fires raged across the North Yorkshire moors, concerns were primarily for the flora and fauna destroyed by the flames. But what followed was the dramatic discovery of long forgotten prehistoric archaeology, previously obscured by the dense vegetation. Neotlithic rock art, Early Bronze Age burial mounds and evidence of farming from 3,000 years ago briefly came to light. Archaeologists were able to record these amazing finds before the grasses and heathers grew back, reclaiming the land and burying these treasures once more, saved for future generations.

2

archaeologycurrent

226

Skip to main content