Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days in the Catholic world 8 Home news Future of Heythrop in doubt after merger talks break down 12 World news Pope Francis prays for end to terror after Nice attack 16 News focus Three months on the battle over Amoris Laetitia is heating up

Comment 19 Notebook Doffing your hat to a lady could now be a hate crime, says Dennis Sewell 20 Cover story Liberal Catholics have lost their revolutionary fervour, says Matthew Schmitz 23 Comment Fr Raymond de Souza on the rift no one wants to talk about 24 Feature If you go on pilgrimage you should at least get sore feet, says Jonathan Wright 25 Comment Niall Gooch’s baby son gives him a masterclass in theology 26 Feature Daniel Kalder on the enigmatic Christian scholar who shocked the Islamic world 28 Science and Faith There’s one vital thing missing from marriage prep, says Quentin de la Bédoyère

✣ / /

I’m no Kremlin stooge but I love Russia, says Peter Hitchens Page 44

Why has Amoris Laetitia provoked so much controversy? Page 16

The blogger who fell victim to a wicked custom Page 29

29 Comment Mary Kenny looks to Kipling for guidance on Trident 31 Letters and emails

Arts and life 32 Arts Tim Stanley is terrified by an Aussie women’s prison drama 34 Books Ed West pays tribute to an Anglo-Saxon monarch 37 Spiritual life Cardinal Sarah’s critics are relying on a translation error, says Fr John Zuhlsdorf 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Peter Hitchens explains why Russia isn’t all bad 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on what hangovers and divine wrath have in common Cover image: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Hon Gerard Noel, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £84 ✣ Annual EU: £100 ✣ Annual world: £115

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content