Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus Are the Pope’s critics really in thrall to Vladimir Putin?

Comment & features REFORMATION AT 500 19 Jenny McCartney The buried truth about Ulster’s Catholics and Protestants 20 Dominic Selwood The myth that was invented to justify the English Reformation 22 Mgr Mark Langham Can Catholics really give thanks for Martin Luther? 23 Amy Welborn Protestantism had disastrous consequences for women 24 Jonathan Wright Luther was a man of mystery – even, at times, to himself 25 Fr Raymond de Souza A bruising new rhetorical style is coming from Rome 26 John Zmirak Socialism is not for Catholics 28 Mary Kenny The atheist feminist taking on the transgender movement

Why the Pope is prepared to honour Martin Luther p22

Caravaggio works his magic in the heart of London p32

The director who rescued a nuns’ tale from oblivion p31

Back pages 29 Letters & emails The danger of ‘buffer zones’; Confession on the bus 31 Arts The director of The Innocents talks to Benedetta Guarracino 35 Books Michael Duggan on the saints who shaped English history 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus is invited to a crematorium ‘open house’ 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Stuart Reid on the Americans who worship America 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser says it is our own fault if we feel bored Cover: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Deben, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content