Page Text

W&N Literary Fiction Hb / ETPb April £12.99 320pp 978 1 474 60495 6 / 978 1 474 60496 3 ebook: £12.99 / 978 1 474 60498 7 Audio: £19.99 / 978 1 409 16873 7 / 9 hours

‘I loved this rollercoaster of a ride into a corrupt, fictitious country that feels only too hideously real. Highly recommended’ – Deborah Moggagh, author of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, on Here Comes Trouble

SIMON WROE Here Comes Trouble

For fans of Skippy Dies, Absurdistan and Boxer Beetle, an electrifying coming-of-age novel from Costa-shortlisted simon wroe.

Following his expulsion from school, seventeenyear-old Ellis Dau is sent to work with his father who is editor of The Chronicle, the last bastion of free speech in their strange, strange land. And it is under threat: from heavy-handed policemen, mysterious revolutionaries, and the resident Russian billionaire.

As Ellis navigates his collapsing, blacked-out city – and his feelings for the oligarch’s beautiful daughter – he realises that some things are worth fighting for. but can he save his family and the newspaper fuelled only by youth, grain spirit and unrequited love?

• Chop Chop was nominated for the Costa First Novel award and the Desmond Elliot award, and won a Betty Trask award.

Praise for Chop Chop:

‘raucous and inventive, peopled with technicolor characters and savagely funny, Chop Chop announces simon wroe as both an heir to Martin amis and an oven-fresh talent unto himself’ a. D. Miller

‘Brutally funny’ Gary shteyngart simon wroe is a freelance journalist and former chef. He writes food and culture features for the Guardian and arts reviews for the Economist.

9

author:

Location: London, SE5 Available for interview T: @simon_wroe

W&N Fiction • April 2017