Page Text

W&N Literary Fiction Hb / ETPb July £14.99 / £12.99 320pp 978 1 474 60500 7 / 978 1 474 60501 4 ebook: £14.99 / 978 1 474 60503 8 Audio: £19.99 / 978 1 409 16868 3 / 9 hours

Lake Superior, largest of the Great Lakes, and the setting for The Lightkeeper's Daughters

JEAN E. PENDZIWOL The Lightkeeper’s Daughters

For fans of The Light Between Oceans and The Ice Twins, the story of an unlikely friendship, a lost journal, and a mystery.

Elizabeth’s eyes have failed. She can no longer read the books she loves or see the paintings that move her spirit, but her mind remains sharp and music fills the vacancy left by her blindness.

When her father’s journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, she enlists the help of a delinquent teen, Morgan, who is completing community service at the senior’s residence where Elizabeth lives. An unlikely relationship develops between the two women as they work to decipher the books, and are drawn into the musty words the Porphyry Island lightkeeper penned more than seventy years ago.

In the process they discover they are both connected to the isolated island, their lives touched by Elizabeth’s enigmatic twin sister Emily and the beautiful but harsh Lake Superior environment.

but for Elizabeth, the faded pages of her father’s journals hold more secrets than she anticipates, and threaten the very core of who she is.

Jean E. Pendziwol is the author of eight books for children and was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature, Text (2013), and the TD book of the Year (2014) for her most recent picture book Once upon a Northern Night (illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault).

13

author:

Location: Ontario, Canada Available for interview www.jeanependziwol.com f/JeanE.Pendziwol T: @JeanPendziwol

W&N Fiction • July 2017