Page Text

DEbUT

Orion Modern & Contemporary Hb / ETPb April £14.99 400pp 978 1 4091 6904 8 / 978 1 4091 6905 5 ebook: £14.99 / 978 1 4091 6907 9 Audio: £19.99 / 978 1 4091 6917 8 / 9 hours

Perfect for book clubs and fans of Joanna Cannon, Emma Healey and Rachel Joyce.

HARRIET CUMMINGS We All begin as Strangers

21

a gripping, beautifully written novel about friendship, loneliness and the secrets we’ll do anything to keep. Perfect for fans of The Trouble With Goats and Sheep and Elizabeth Is Missing.

In the summer of 1984, a mysterious figure known only as ‘the Fox’ is breaking into homes in the small village of Heathcote. It starts off small: muddy footprints on the carpet. Then things are taken or – even stranger – troubling objects begin to appear. Finally, it’s one of their own they find gone. Anna is missing and all fingers point to the Fox. but as the heat intensifies, the villagers are growing fearful for a different reason; that their own dark secrets will be uncovered.

Weaving together the voices of the village, We All Begin as Strangers is a beautifully observed and blackly witty look at what it takes to push a small community to the brink. based on true events, it’s an unsettling portrayal of the crippling effects of loneliness, and the true price we pay to belong.

harriet Cummings is a freelance writer with a background in history of art and gender studies. While studying at Faber Academy, Harriet threw herself into her first novel and hasn’t looked back since.

author:

Location: buckinghamshire Available for interview www.harrietcummings.co.uk T: @harrietwriter

Orion Fiction • April 2017