Page Text

28

DEbUT

Orion Modern & Contemporary Pb June £7.99 304pp 978 1 4091 7130 0 ebook: £7.99 / 978 1 4091 7131 7 Audio: £19.99 / 978 1 4091 7133 1 / 8 hours

SONYA LALLI The Arrangement a funny, warm debut novel bringing westernised indian culture to the fore – perfect for fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary and Bend it Like Beckham.

Twenty-nine year-old Raina is still unmarried and battling her family’s expectations for her future – they think that by now she should have been married in a dream Indian wedding. The pressure reaches new heights when her grandmother, Nani, decides to play matchmaker in order to find her the perfect arranged marriage. Eager not to disappoint her family, Raina goes along with the plan but when the love of her life returns – ex-boyfriend Dev – she’s forced to confront her true feelings. As she tries to free herself from the cultural pressures she faces, Raina realises that sometimes you have to disappoint those closest to you in order to forge your own path.

sonya lalli grew up in Canada and now works as a journalist in London. She was inspired to write her debut novel by the strong Indian women in her life, including her real-life Nani – who thankfully is yet to play matchmaker.

Orion Modern & Contemporary Hb / ETPb June £12.99 320pp 978 1 4091 7174 4 / 978 1 4091 7175 1 ebook: £12.99 / 978 1 4091 7177 5 Audio: £19.99 / 978 1 4091 7178 2 / 10 hours

JULIE COHEN Together a poignant, surprising love story told backwards over four decades, with a devastating secret at its heart.

On a morning that seems just like any other, Robbie wakes in his bed, his wife Emily asleep beside him, as always. He rises and dresses, makes his coffee, feeds his dogs, just as he usually does. but then he leaves Emily a letter and leaves, and does something that will break her heart. As the years go back all the way to 1962, Robbie’s actions become clearer as we discover the story of a normal couple with a terrible secret – one they will do absolutely anything to protect.

Julie Cohen has been shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists’s Association Award, the National Readers’ Choice Award and her previous novel, Dear Thing, was a Richard and Judy book Club pick. She teaches creative writing and lives with her husband, son and dog in berkshire.

author:

Location: London, E8 Available for interview T: @saskinthecity

Orion Fiction • June 2017

author:

Location: Reading, berkshire Available for interview www.julie-cohen.com f/Julie.Cohen.Books T: @julie_cohen