Page Text

6

DEbUT

W&N Literary Fiction Hb / ETPb February / January £12.99 288pp 978 1 474 60294 5 / 978 1 474 60295 2 ebook: £12.99 / 978 1 474 60297 6 Audio: £19.99 / 978 1 409 16506 4 / 10 hours

‘As exquisite a first novel as I’ve ever encountered. Poetic, complex and utterly, heartbreakingly beautiful’ – T. C. boyle

EMILY FRIDLUND History of Wolves already being acclaimed as one of the most exciting new voices of 2017, Emily Fridlund’s History of Wolves is a brilliant coming-of-age novel that will appeal to fans of The Girls and The Virgin Suicides.

Linda has an idiosyncratic home life: her parents live in abandoned commune cabins in northern Minnesota and are hanging on to the last vestiges of a faded counter-culture world. She is an outsider in all things. Her understanding of the world comes from her observations at school where her teacher is accused of possessing child pornography, and from watching the seemingly ordinary life of a family she babysits for.

Yet while the accusation against the teacher is perhaps more innocent than it seemed at first, the ordinary family turns out to be more complicated. As Linda insinuates her way into the family’s orbit, she realises they are hiding something. If she tells the truth, she will lose the normal family life she is beginning to enjoy with them; and if she doesn’t, a life is at stake.

• selected as a buzz book for BookExpoamerica 2016.

• ‘so delicately calibrated and precisely beautiful that one might not immediately sense the sledgehammer of pain building inside this book . . . what powerful tension and depth’ aimee Bender

Emily Fridlund grew up in Minnesota. She holds a PhD in Literature and Creative Writing from the University of Southern California and lives in the Finger Lakes region of New York.

author:

Location: Ithaca, New York, USA Available for interview

W&N Fiction • February 2017