Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus Why Francis is ending Ireland’s 40-year wait for a papal visit

Comment & features 19 Colin Brazier Growing up in a large family has made my children tougher 20 Catholic of the Year The bishop on an urgent mission to evangelise Britain 22 Fr Ian Ker Cardinal Newman was neither liberal nor conservative 23 Ann Widdecombe It’s time for an accurate BBC documentary on Pius XII 24 Fr James Bradley The South Carolina town where Catholics are spoilt for choice 25 Mgr John Armitage What the Christmas story tells us about God – and ourselves 26 Amy-Jo Crowley Times are changing at Britain’s oldest Catholic university 28 Mary Kenny Immigrants should not have Britishness forced on them

The man shaking up Britain’s biggest Catholic university p26

Did David Cameron snub Benedict XVI in 2010? p23

The film that will make you see the Bible in a new light p31

Back pages 29 Letters & emails Trump needs our prayers; Empathy for embryos 31 Arts Bishop Robert Barron finds a metaphor for God’s revelation in the new film Arrival 34 Books Stav Sherez praises a vividly illustrated history of the Church 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus on a small but powerful Advent practice 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse David Twiston Davies on a conversation with St Benedict 47 The Last Word Why are we so afraid of flinging open our church doors, asks Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover: Mazur/ catholicnews.org.uk In next week’s Christmas double issue: an interview with Martin Scorsese and an extract from Cardinal Sarah’s new book, plus a free DVD worth £12.99

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content