Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus What will it take for the abortion industry to be held accountable?

Comment & features 19 Colin Brazier On live TV, you can’t be too careful what questions you ask 20 Fr Mark Drew Cardinal Müller could answer the dubia, but will he get the chance? 22 Jonathan Luxmoore Pope Francis’s reforms are causing perplexity in Poland 23 Chene Heady Living by the liturgical calendar can have amazing results 24 Felipe d’Avillez How will the Catholic, pro-life new head of the UN deal with the liberal consensus? 25 Quentin de la Bédoyère Make the next 12 months a year of living virtuously 26 Caroline Wyatt What we BBC journalists can learn from George Orwell 28 Mary Kenny If you can afford a car, you can afford hospital parking fees

Pro-life, against gay marriage, and in charge at the UN p24

Caroline Wyatt: the spiritual roots of George Orwell p26

Firebrand George Galloway has a charming side p19

Back pages 29 Letters & emails What Bishop Egan and a town in South Carolina have in common 31 Arts Francis Phillips acclaims the poetry and poignancy of Boris Pasternak’s Doctor Zhivago 34 Books Charlie Hegarty on a treat for fans of Mary Kenny’s columns 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus is impressed on a visit to a thriving convent 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Why did the press go easy on Fidel Castro, asks John Jolliffe 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on his favourite books of the past year Cover: AP

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content