Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus What does Catholic teaching say about the Trump ban?

Inside the shattered city of Aleppo p26

Comment & features 19 Melissa Kite Outside London, Donald Trump seems to be quite well-regarded 20 Samuel Gregg François Fillon and the return of Catholicism to French politics 22 Stephen Bullivant What we can learn from American megachurches 23 Colin Brazier The wet footprint that made me wonder if our house was haunted 24 Thomas J Craughwell What St Thomas More’s descendants, including John Donne, did after his martyrdom 25 Philip Booth The Church is coming round to the benefits of free trade 26 John Pontifex A special report from Aleppo on what the future holds for the city’s Christians 28 Mary Kenny Let’s not get carried away about Martin Luther

The saint whose biography has never really ended p24

Cardinal says Trump ban is a ‘dark moment’ for America p16

Back pages 29 Letters & emails Catholic schools; the Order of Malta; the plight of the divorced 31 Arts Fr Dominic White sees the Word made flesh through dance 34 Books Jack Carrigan on a short but sharp biography of Mrs Thatcher 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus on childhood memories of Desert Island Discs 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Piers Paul Read on why he keeps a list of deceased friends 47 The Last Word Real power is moral power, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover: Getty Images

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content