Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus How you can help Britain fulfil its duties to refugees

Comment & features 19 Mgr Peter Smith Doctors said I had just days to live. Then a miracle happened 20 David Paton The Church’s charitable work is vast, but it could be under threat 22 Mick Clarke Homelessness is rising. It will need more than cash to tackle it 23 Ann Widdecombe The Iwerne camp beatings were shocking – but there was no Church cover-up 24 Quentin de la Bédoyère Marriage in Britain is in crisis. Why don’t young people care? 25 Colin Brazier The day I became a quirky news headline 26 Matthew Shadle Mel Gibson’s Hacksaw Ridge enters difficult ethical territory 28 Mary Kenny The dancing in La La Land makes Ed Balls look talented 30 Education The saints can be role models for pupils, says James Whitehead

Teaching about sainthood and celebrity in the age of Trump p30

Prince William: a role model for larger families? p25

Mel Gibson’s foray into the ethics of war disappoints p26

Back pages 29 Letters & emails Vatican double-talk; more on More; a stand against Trump 51 Arts Miguel Cullen admires how Rome is restoring its antiquities 55 Books Jonathan Wright on HL Mencken’s acerbic atheism 59 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus says a French law will muffle pro-life freedom of speech 60 Catholic Life 62 Bishops’ engagements 63 Crossword 64 Charterhouse Will Heaven wonders what he should tell 10-year-olds about hell 67 The Last Word Treat the poor as you would treat Christ, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover: Fr Bernard Kinvi helps a Muslim child fleeing violence in Bossemptele, Central African Republic (CNS)

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content