Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus Are we likely to see Amoris Laetitia guidelines from the bishops of England and Wales?

Comment & features 19 Matthew Walther I had drifted from the faith. But TS Eliot’s poem fascinated me 20 Matthew Schmitz Without beauty the Church cannot win souls for Christ 22 Jonathan Luxmoore Is Hungary’s migrant policy really ‘protecting Christianity’? 23 Raymond J de Souza Cardinal Coccopalmerio’s baffling advice for the remarried 24 Stephen Bullivant On the trail of a famous, but elusive, Chesterton quotation 25 Bishop John Sherrington A Lenten reflection 26 Alan Fimister The mind-boggling doctrines of the Mormon Church 28 Mary Kenny As the French prepare to vote, what would St Joan do?

Hungary has ignored the Pope's appeal to welcome refugees – with the local Church's blessing p22

Do you dare to give up social media for Lent? p25

The wittiest thing that Chesterton never said p24

Back pages 29 Letters & emails Inspired by Sister Tarcisia; blessed by Fr Ronald Rolheiser 31 Arts Max Wind-Cowie says Philip Pullman’s books are, in their own way, powerfully Christian 35 Books Jack Carrigan on Wagner’s troubled, and troubling, genius 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus says the French Church is facing extinction 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse James Jeffrey rediscovers Brideshead in Djibouti 47 The Last Word Don’t divide people into winners and losers, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover: St Patrick’s, Soho (Getty)

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content