Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus Has Pope Francis given the nod to married priests?

Comment & features 19 Andrew M Brown The tribal Anglican buried under a Heathrow flight path 20 COVER STORY Europe’s leaders are panicking over the dearth of babies, reports Dennis Sewell 22 Timothy O’Malley How to embrace ‘bored again’ Catholicism 23 Ann Widdecombe Priests and nuns are the victims of Home Office incompetence 24 Bishop Philip Egan A Lenten Reflection 25 Colin Brazier The historical drama SS-GB had me shouting at the box 26 Thomas J Craughwell The circus isn’t as foreign to Catholicism as you might think 28 Mary Kenny I’ve never known such hatred against the Irish Church

Why is the Vatican so fond of circus performers? p26

The Christian elite that conspired to kill Romero p34

Sometimes boredom is part of spiritual growth p22

Back pages 29 Letters & emails John Cornwell writes in defence of Hitler’s Pope 31 Arts Michael White on the stateschool choir that’s taking the classical charts by storm 34 Books Julian Filochowski asks who murdered Archbishop Romero 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus on our Lenten battle with temptation 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Piers Paul Read is alarmed by a gender-neutral school 47 The Last Word We don’t own anything, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content