Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus An unexpected twist in the great Amoris Laetitia debate

Comment & features 19 Will Heaven The IRA thought its violence was righteous. It never was 20 COVER STORY The Irish Church’s fierce independence could hinder reform, says Jon Anderson 22 Fr Stewart Foster How a bishop’s love of railways created Brentwood diocese 23 Fr Raymond J de Souza Schisms and revolutions: 2017 is a big year for anniversaries 24 Bishop Michael Campbell Lenten reflection 27 Colin Brazier Reporting on terror attacks, I’ve wondered if we need a new plan 28 Peter Stanford An interview with Rachel Kelly on charity and the Reformation 30 Mary Kenny The recent Irish funeral that didn’t make the headlines

What did the Pope just say to the Chilean bishops? p16

The centenary we should all be talking about p23

After the terror attack, should Britain learn from Israel? p27

Back pages 31 Letters & emails The plight of Anglo-Catholics; Communion is not a ‘reward’ 33 Arts Peter Quantrill looks forward to a musical Holy Week in Kraków 36 Books Jonathan Wright on Luther and his many demons 39 Spiritual life Even priests can get it wrong in Lent, says Fr John Zuhlsdorf 42 Catholic Life 44 Bishops’ engagements 45 Crossword 46 Charterhouse John Charmley thinks Trump and Nero have a lot in common 49 The Last Word Religious people can think their violent language is justified, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover: CNS

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content