Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus Is the symbolism behind the Easter egg really pagan?

Comment & features 19 Carol Monaghan An unplanned pregnancy awakened my Catholic faith 20 LEAD STORY Future Catholic rebels will be inspired by Benedict XVI, says Tracey Rowland 22 Melanie McDonagh Why we should resist hot cross buns for a few days more 25 Colin Brazier Facebook can help the bereaved to mourn their loved ones 26 Fr Benedict Kiely A glimpse of hope in the churches ravaged by ISIS 27 Axe Yard How the UK’s lawyers can cut the Brexit divorce bill 28 Anthony Esolen Our deepest fears are revealed on the road to Emmaus 31 Richard Ingrams Why St John’s Gospel is first-rate reportage 32 Mary Kenny Feminists have forgotten their debt to Christianity

Are secularists right that Easter has non-Christian origins? p16

Mary Kenny asks what became of the Easter bonnet p32

How I corrected a Martin Amis novel, by Colin Brazier p25

Back pages 33 Letters & emails Learning how to love again; The dubia row needs prayers 35 Arts Michael White hears a ‘reconstructed’ Tudor Mass 38 Books Paul Senz on the history and veneration of the Cross 43 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus contemplates fatherhood on a long-haul flight 46 Catholic Life 48 Bishops’ engagements 49 Crossword 50 Charterhouse Stuart Reid wings a dementia test in hospital 53 The Last Word The Resurrection was both a faith event and a physical event, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover: A detail from Christ and St Mary Magdalene at the Tomb (1638) by Rembrandt

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content