Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus Syria’s Christians face an ugly moral dilemma

Pope-Emeritus Benedict XVI on his 90th birthday p25

Comment & features 19 Melissa Kite For Lent, I gave up the news. The results were revelatory 20 Cover Story Ideology and economics threaten the family, says David Goodhart. Time for reform 22 Stephen Yates Why theologians disagree about what happens after death 23 Ann Widdecombe The media failed the sick and housebound on Good Friday 24 Quentin de la Bedoyere How a mnemonic can help us deal with personal problems 25 Fr Raymond de Souza The Ratzinger Revolution has already begun in biblical studies 26 Roy Hattersley The author tells Michael Duggan why Catholics fascinate him 28 Mary Kenny Prince Harry’s courage reminds us of the need for mourning

Hardened atheist Roy Hattersley is impressed by Catholics p26

George Weigel on John Paul II’s newly-published writings p34

Back pages 29 Letters & emails The Irish Church’s strength; Pius XII in a post-truth world 31 Arts Desmond O’Grady on Peter and Paul’s presence in Rome 34 Books George Weigel reads the story of an extraordinary soul 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus critiques sloppy thinking about Easter 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Andrew M Brown asks why gender politics won’t go away 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser on the 500 years which divide Catholics from Protestants Cover: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content