Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text


Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus Why is homophobic bullying a tricky area for Catholic schools?

Comment & features 19 Matthew Walther There’s nothing naïve about believing in angels 20 COVER STORY Cardinal Zen of Hong Kong tells Megan Griffiths that ‘the Vatican isn’t listening to us’ 22 Claire McGowan The search goes on for those who ‘disappeared’ during the Troubles 22 Kipper Williams Our new cartoonist 23 Ann Widdecombe The general election has become all about suppressing belief 24 Neil Addison The British Muslims who reject violence and embrace tolerance 25 Carmody Grey Animals have a spiritual dignity which should not be ignored 26 Rosa Pich The mother of 15 tells Jack Valero about raising children and her husband’s tragic death

Frazzled by social media? Then step into a cathedral p31

What are the chances that you will see Fido in heaven? p25

Why gorgeous James Norton is hanging up his dog collar p28

28 Mary Kenny In its crisis, the NHS could learn from 19th-century Ireland

Back pages 29 Letters & emails Jeremy Corbyn and Jesus; the evils of communism 31 Arts Cathedrals hold a ‘deeper magic’, says Niall Gooch 34 Books Jack Carrigan on a Muslim father’s message to his sons 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus hails the artist who draws what isn’t there 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Melanie McDonagh on the crimes that test our forgiveness 47 The Last Word Fr Ronald Rolheiser charts his journey to spirituality via storybooks and theology Cover: CNS

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

My Bookmarks


Skip to main content