Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text



( Hear in ine Kwong

(Anne), Jasm ith lbra

Ga leksandra Kostiv (Ummagma), Lloyd leur (Susanna), O

llertide), Anne Va

( Bonaventure) , James C asserly (sma itaen



11 DJ Marcelle/Another Nice Mess “Too Long (Too Short Dub)” From Too EP (Jahmoni Music) DJ Marcelle aka Another Nice Mess is an iconoclastic DJ and musician from the Netherlands, notable for her improvised DJ sets on three decks. Her rough and ready productions mix heavy bass and unorthodox rhythms, and since 2008 she has released four albums on Faust founder Hans-Joachim Irmler’s Klangbad label. The oddball club tracks of Too mark the follow-up to 2016’s In The Wrong Direction EP. anothernicemess. com,

12 Team Morale “Ubuntu” From Satori EP (self-released) George Cloke is an artist and musician from Kent. As one half of instrumental electronic duo Team Morale, his music has been played on BBC and NTS radio. As a sound and multimedia artist, he has exhibited works at CCA Glasgow, Sound Thought Festival and Akusmata Helsinki. His latest project, the contemplative Year In Review, was awarded second prize at The Engine Room International Sound Art Competition 2017., facebook. com/TeamMorale

13 Paul Rooney “Bay Of Biscay (Lorenzo Mix)” Wire Tapper exclusive (Owd Scrat) Paul Rooney released three lo-fi albums of songs of the mundane between 1998–2000,

receiving support from John Peel and Stewart Lee among others. Futile Exorcise, a set of post-punk experimental folk songs of ghosts playing poker and haunting toilet seats, is his first full-length album since 2000, after an extensive period of art and video work. The track “Bay Of Biscay (Lorenzo mix)” features vocals by Emily Dankworth.,

14 Bonaventure “Synchronicity” From FREE LUTANGU (PTP) Bonaventure, Swiss artist Soraya Lutangu’s nom de guerre, develops sonic weaponry designed to confront oppressive power structures, and her music has been swiftly embraced by both the world’s more progressive club nights and major art institutions since coming through Berlin Community Radio’s Generator project. Her debut EP, FREE LUTANGU, tells a story of violence and indifference while questioning the complexities of her own African and European roots., ptp. vision

15 smallertide “Left For New Orleans” From All Along The Northern Evening (Poor L’Amour) smallertide is the Minneapolis duo of guitarists Sam Sharp and Joel Almberg. The pair released an EP of miniature guitar pieces Crickets in 2016, a debut well received by US college and freeform radio. The track “Left For New Orleans” is previously unreleased and will appear on smallertide’s upcoming album All Along The Northern Evening. smallertide, exotic electronic productions, and will be released on the Los Angeles independent record label Dome Of Doom.,

16 Susanna “This / Phenomena” From Triangle (SusannaSonata) Norwegian artist Susanna has released music since 2004 through independent labels like Rune Grammofon and Grappa Musikkforlag, and through her own label SusannaSonata since 2011. She is known for transforming songs by Joy Division, Dolly Parton, AC/DC and ABBA, but also for her original songs, and she has collaborated with Jenny Hval, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and Swiss baroque harp player Giovanna Pessi.,

19 LTO “Partners” From Storybook (Injazero) Bristol based electronic producer LTO first made waves as part of the mysterious Old Apparatus collective, and his early releases have retained the tense and eerie programming of their work. New LP Storybook is a departure an album of human warmth, with a palette of digital and organic materials, and natural and treated voices alongside piano and brass.,

17 Ummagma “Lama (Robin Guthrie Mix)” From LCD EP (Label Obscura/Somewherecold) Formed in Moscow in 2003, Canadian- Ukrainian duo Ummagma create music of otherworldly delicacy. Comprised of Shauna McLarnon (vocals) and Alexander Kretov (instruments), their cosmic yet introspective dreampop has seen them collaborate with AR Kane and Malcolm Holmes. Their forthcoming LCD EP features contributions from Robin Guthrie and Dean Garcia., labelobscura. com,

20 Hear in Now “Last Night’s Vacation” From Not Living in Fear (International Anthem) Hear in Now, comprised of Mazz Swift (violin), Tomeka Reid (cello) and Silvia Bolognesi (double bass), are a string trio who compose and improvise fluidly between free jazz and contemporary classical, folk music and avant garde. The group comprised half of Roscoe Mitchell Sextet for several European shows in early 2017, and Not Living In Fear is their second studio album.

18 Huxley Anne “Ashes” From Ilium (Dome Of Doom) In 2012 electronic producer Huxley Anne travelled from France to the US, where she experienced an epiphany viewing Cy Twombly’s Ilium (One Morning Ten Years Later). Her debut album explores the idea of duende, a state of heightened emotion, expression and authenticity, via a set of

01 AGF + Werkstatt “Ninjaness” From Monika Werkstatt

(Monika Enterprise),

02 Matthias Puech “Badalisc” Wire Tapper exclusive,,

03 Sarah Angliss “Camberwell Beauty” From Ealing Feeder


04 Yuri Morozov “Shall Come For th The Demons” From

Strange Angels (Buried Treasure),

05 UMFANG “Weight” From Symbolic Use Of Light (Technicolour),

06 Alessandro Monti Unfolk Collective “Mbuyu Na Mkonge

Part 1” From Intuitive Maps (MP & Records),

11 DJ Marcelle/Another Nice Mess “Too Long ( Too Shor t

Dub)” From Too EP (Jahmoni Music),

12 Team Morale “Ubuntu” From Satori EP (self-released),

13 Paul Rooney “Bay Of Biscay (Lorenzo Mix)” Wire Tapper exclusive (Owd Scrat),

14 Bonaventure “Synchronicity” From FREE LUTANGU ( PTP),

15 smallertide “L e f t For New Or l eans” From A l l A l ong The

Northern Evening (Poor L’amour)

16 Susanna “This/Phenomena” From Triangle (SusannaSonata),

07 YOLK “Vanitas (Part 3)” From Solar (Nuun),

08 New Routines Every Day “Maybe Those Who Were Here

Before (Promo Edit)” From You Never Know What I s Enough/ Unless You Know What Is More Than Enough (Pulver & Asche),

09 Batfinks “Certain Death” From Mosisac (Caoutchou),

10 Zazou/Bikaye/CY1 “Dju Ya Feza (Original Demo)”

From Noir et Blanc (Crammed Discs),

17 Ummagma “Lama (Robin Guthrie Remix)” From LCD EP

(Label Obscura/Somewherecold),,

18 Huxley Anne “Ashes” From Ilium (Dome Of Doom),

19 LTO “Partners” From Storybook (Injazero),

20 Hear in Now “Last Night’s Vacation” From Not L i v i ng I n Fear

(International Anthem)

This compilation © 2017 The Wire

Compiled by Shane Woolman, Gust ave Ev r ard & As t r ud Steehouder Contact Mastered by Toby Hrycek-Robinson Cover ar t work © Tom Phi l l i ps The Wire Tapper 44 is given away with The Wire i ssue 402 August 2017 Not fo r sa l e wt-44-wallet-aw3.indd 1

The Wire Tapper 4 4

07/06/2017 18:06

The Wire Tapper 44 is given away with all copies of The Wire 402 (August 2017). If your copy of the CD is missing or damaged, either return the magazine to where you bought it to get a replacement, or contact The Wire: +44 (0)20 7422 5022,

The Wire Tapper 44 | The Wire | 5

Skip to main content