Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

Contents

✣ / /

News 6 Week in review A guide to the past seven days 8 Home news 12 World news 16 News focus Could breezy homilies inspire a boom in Mass attendance?

Comment & features 19 Colin Brazier I saw Sadiq Khan pass the greatest political test of his life 20 COVER STORY Theresa May wants to tackle ‘extremism in all its forms’. That should worry us 22 Mgr Keith Barltrop The two ways the Church is supporting gay Catholics 23 Fr Raymond de Souza Australian Catholicism is on the brink of catastrophe 24 Greg Watts We owe seafarers so much. Why do we care so little for them? 25 William Cash Why I’m leaving Ireland with a sense of despair 26 Interview Gabriele Kuby, the convert who inspires love and loathing 28 Mary Kenny Few things are as cheering as a good-looking royal

Should there be a five-minute limit on homilies? p16

Why regal beauty is a comfort in hard times p28

Tom Stoppard: from gangling youth to London’s Sun King p44

Back pages 29 Letters & emails Stella Creasy’s sad analogy; rock climbing atheists 31 Arts Anthony Burgess was a sparky novelist but a dull theologian, says Jonathan Wright 34 Books Francis Phillips on the book that uncovers Cardinal Sarah’s remarkable inner life 39 Spiritual life Pastor Iuventus visits the school that’s churning out priestly vocations 40 Catholic Life 42 Bishops’ engagements 43 Crossword 44 Charterhouse Piers Paul Read attends Tom Stoppard’s glitzy 80th bash 47 The Last Word One of my students is as eloquent at Karl Rahner, says Fr Ronald Rolheiser Cover: Christian Adams

CONTACTS Editor Luke Coppen editorial@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Deputy Editor Dan Hitchens danhitchens@catholicherald.co.uk

News Editor Mark Greaves mark@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Associate Editor Madeleine Teahan madeleine@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Literary Editor Stav Sherez stav@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Arts Editor Miguel Cullen miguelcullen1@gmail.com ✣

Production Controller Benedetta Guarracino 020 7448 3613 advertising@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Display and Classified Sales Frank Pells 020 7448 3612

adsales@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Circulation Director Dennis Charlick 01706 670261 dennis@catholicherald.co.uk ✣

Subscriptions Administrator Margaret Hiscock 020 7448 3607 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Accounts Eamonn Hamilton 020 7448 3609

accounts@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Administrator Paul Duff 020 7448 3618 paul@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ DIRECTORS Peter Sheppard, Chairman ✣ Andy Leisinger, MD ✣ Sir Rocco Forte, Lord Black of Crossharbour,

Lord Deben, William Cash, Brooks Newmark, Cristina Odone, Damian Thompson

SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE 020 7448 3608 subscriptions@catholicherald.co.uk ✣ Annual UK: £90 ✣ Annual EU: £105 ✣ Annual world: £120

ADDRESS The Catholic Herald Ltd, Herald House, Lamb’s Passage, Bunhill Row, London EC1Y 8TQ Tel: +44 (0)20 7448 3607

Skip to main content