Skip to main content
Read page text



REGULARS 4 Sacred World 6 Letters 7 President’s Letter 8 News 14 Families 20 Megaliths 27 The Quiet Revolution 28 Police Pagan Association 29 Disabilities 32 Reviews 34 The Kitchen Witch 37 Volunteer Focus 38 Herbalism 42 Leyhunting 44 Green Pages 46 Old Dotty

Editorial team

Editor-in-chief Keith Tovey Production & design David Spofforth Assistant Editor Debi Gregory Editorial Assistant Viviane Schroeder

FEATURES 10 Weaving Our Words around the Land by Rebecca Beattie 15 Resisting Hate by Roanna Carleton-Taylor 16 A Safer Pagan Community by Mike Stygal 18 One Man and his Dog & the Healing Power of Nature by Andrew EB Smith 22 The Artemis Gathering by Merlyn 24 The Ghost of Myrddin Wyllt by Lorna Smithers 30 A new Charter for Trees, Woods and People by Sarah Rouse, Woodland Trust 40 Forager’s Feast by Mabh Savage

Cover image: Hadleigh Csstle © Keith Tovey,


For advertising, email Pagan Dawn is published by the Pagan Federation. Advertising enquiries, letters and review books to: Pagan Dawn, BM Box 7097, London, WC1N 3XX, UK. ISSN No 1357-5147. Submissions: Original artwork, photos, articles on the PF’s work, polytheism, philosophy, esoteric arts or folklore, to pagandawn@paganfederation. We reserve the right to abridge content and edit for style, grammar, clarity and accuracy. The editor’s decision is final. Issue 205 submissions deadline: September 30th. Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in Pagan Dawn by writers are not necessarily those of the Pagan Federation or its officers. All articles/ artwork remain the copyright of the author/artist. The Pagan Federation retains typographical copyright on all content typeset by Pagan Dawn, the Pagan Federation, or its staff. All rights reserved. No part of this magazine may be reproduced, except for short passages for criticism or review, without written permission from the publishers. Follow us on Facebook ( and Twitter (

Issue 204 contributors

Jennifer Connolly Rebecca Beattie Sam Nockolds Roanna Carleton-Taylor Mike Stygal Andrew EB Smith Terence Meaden Kev Flaherty Merlyn Lorna Smithers Nimue Brown Andrew Pardy Debi Gregory Sarah Rouse Matt Larsen-Daw Rachel Patterson Maia Miller Val Thomas Mabh Savage Laurence Main Rich Blackett Ben Timmons


Pagan Dawn is staffed by volunteers. If you would like to get involved, email us at pagandawn@

My Bookmarks

    Skip to main content