Page Text

DEBUT

Gollancz Science Fiction TPB July £12.99 336pp 978 1 473 21826 0 eBook: £6.99 / 978 1 473 21828 4 Audio: £19.99 / 978 1 409 16819 5 / 14 hrs

A totally original SF read, in the tradition of Dune and Star Wars.

CHRISTOPHER RUOCCHIO Empire of Silence introducing a major new talent, and a genuinely original, fresh and engaging new voice. Empire of Silence is perhaps best descirbed as an sF Name of the Wind.

Hadrian Marlowe, privileged first son of a Duke was destined for greatness, and he has become a legend. The Sun-Slayer. The Breaker of Sieges. The Crusher of Civilisations. His is a story which defined the course of worlds.

This novel is not that story – not the one laid out in the history books, charting the 300 years of his life. Rather, this is Hadrian’s story, told in his own words. Of being passed over by his father for rule in favour of his younger brother, and sent to a military academy against his wishes. Of being kidnapped in transit and abandoned on a planet on the edge of our war against the Cielcen . . . and of how he used every opportunity to claw his way into and through the dangers of politics . . . and into the history books . . .

Christopher Ruocchio is a debut novelist writing in the tradition of Dune and The Book of the New Sun. He is an editorial assistant working for a US publishing house.

47

author:

Location: North Carolina, USA Cruocchio.wordpress.com T: @TheRuocchio

Gollancz Science Fiction & Fantasy • July 2018