Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

The Wire Tapper 48 Your track by track guide to this month’s free CD

1 Penelope Trappes “Kismet” From Penelope Two (Houndstooth) London based vocalist, musician and soundscaper Penelope Trappes’s Penelope Two follows her Optimo Music released debut album Penelope One. Originally from the Northern Rivers of New South Wales, Australia, Trappes moved to New York where she developed her experimental electronic projects Locke and Priscilla Sharp, and in duo with her partner Stephen, The Golden Filter. When she’s not making music Trappes works with the visual arts collective Agnes Haus., houndstooth

2 Mads Emil Nielsen “Constellation” Previously unreleased (arbitrary) Copenhagen based musician/composer Mads Emil Nielsen works with various basic sources, ranging from short percussive and orchestral samples to real sounds and machine produced errors. In 2014 he founded arbitrary as a label platform for developing and releasing his solo works and collaborations, including his Black Box series documenting his theatre work and installations, Percussion Loops, and Refound with German musician Andrea Neumann.,

3 Don the Tiger “Cantos al Aral menguante” From Mantazas (Crammed Discs) Don the Tiger is the solo project of Adrián de Alfonso, the Barcelona underground artist who has played guitar with Lydia Lunch, Robert Forster and Carla Bozulich, among others. Since relocating to Berlin, Don the Tiger mixes elements of everything he misses from home – be it bolero, MPB, baroque fantasy, guabina, flamenco or Fania Records – with musique concrète and video game music. His second album Matanzas was co-produced by Lucrecia Dalt and mastered by Rashad Becker.

4 Planet Battagon “Who’s Out On Quaoar? (Tuggy’s Transmission Edit)” From Battagon Symphony (On The Corner) Self-described innovators of “droid jazz, electronics, jazz and outer-national sounds”, the Noise Droids making up Planet Battagon are Jack Baker (acoustic drums), Martin Slattery (bass clarinet, alto sax and FX), Oli Savill (percussion), Mickey Ball (trumpet), Nathan Curran aka Tugg, (synth bass,syn drums, FX and conductor). “Droid consciousness,” they continue, “is the starting point but what’s consciousness got to do with it?” Planet Battagon’s debut release follows an earlier Lord Battagon outing on the Atlantic Jaxx label. planetbattagon.,

5 Håvard Volden “VII” From Space Happy (SOFA MUSIC) Born in Trondheim in 1980, Norwegian experimental guitarist Håvard Volden has been based in Oslo since 2006. He has closely collaborated with Jenny Hval since 2008, and his several other projects include the instrumental ‘noiserockjazz’ band Moon Relay (Hubro), Swedish/Norwegian electroacoustic trio Muddersten and a duo with the Italian percussionist Carlo Costa. Space Happy is Volden’s second solo album. soundcloud. com/sofalabel/havard-volden-viii-x,

6 Daniel Carter/Patrick Holmes/ Matthew Putman/Hilliard Greene/ Federico Ughi “Deluxe Light (radio edit)” From Telepatia Liquida (Forward Festival/577) This eclectic group bring together multiinstrumentalist Daniel Carter, pianist Matthew Putman, drummer and 577 Records co-founder Federico Ughi, Texas born clarinet player Patrick Holmes and veteran bassist Hilliard Greene. The title of their album Telepatia Liquida, recorded live at the Forward Festival 2017, reflects the telepathic understanding they have developed over time.,

7 Wylie Cable “Making Tea For Ghosts” From Buried At Sea (Dome of Doom) Los Angeles based multi-instrumentalist, producer, DJ, concert organiser and visual artist Wylie Cable “aims to orchestrate chaos both in and outside of the studio”. When he’s not DJing or working on his next album, he devotes his creative energies toward running his label Dome of Doom. Founded in 2011, it has released more than 80 cassette and vinyl recordings by the likes of Linafornia, Great Dane, Huxley Anne, Daedalus and Kenny Segal. buriedatsea,

8 Vanligt Folk “(O)Hambo” From Hambo (Kontra-Musik/Kess Kill) Formed in Gothenburg in 2013, the Swedish trio Vanligt Folk are Jonas

Abrahamsson, Carl I Carlsson and David Sundquist. So far they have released an LP, four EPs, various cassettes, vinyl singles and other forms of digital noise. Named after a Swedish traditional folk dance popular at the turn of the 19th century, their second album Hambo is co-released by Kontra-Musik and DJ veteran Rivet’s label Kess Kill. vanligtfolk. org,, kesskill.

9 Saturn And The Sun “In Love With The Extreme (Idealist Dub)” Exclusive Wire Tapper version (Ideal Recordings) Joachim Nordwall and Henrik Rylander have worked together as The Skull Defekts since 2005; but in April 2018 they shifted focus to Saturn And The Sun, an electronic duo whose most recent album In Love With The Extreme was released in September. Rylander is also a forensic photographer and extreme sound artist; iDEAL Recordings’ Nordwall works solo or with the likes of Mats Gustafsson, Mika Vainio (RIP), Ryan Martin and Leif Elggren. l (9); Federico Pedrotti (10)

icke Keysenda

(7); M



Records (6); Ryan l 577


(5); Forward

10 Tim Rutili “ loves an albatross” From Arthur King Presents Tim Rutili: (arroyo) Abstractions (Dangerbird) Multi-instrumentalist Tim Rutili is the front person of Chicago bands Califone and Red Red Meat. His extensive CV includes collaborations with artists such as Craig Ross, Ugly Casanova and Joan Of Arc, among others. In addition to his recording work Rutili composes music for films – he made his film directing debut with All My Friends Are Funeral Singers (2010)., Agnes Haus (1); Rene K

ilas (3); Lasse Marhaug

(2); Borxa V


4 | The Wire | The Wire Tapper 48

Skip to main content