Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

CONTENTS

October 2018 ISSUE N° 456 WWW.ICPUBLICATIONS.COM

UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square London EC1R 4LQ Tel: +44 20 7841 3210 Fax: +44 20 7713 7898 icpubs@icpublications.com africanbusinessmagazine.com

FRANCE IC PUBLICATIONS 609 Bat A 77 rue Bayen 75017 PARIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 info@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder EDITOR IN CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder o.benyedder@icpublications.com CHIEF FEATURES WRITER David Thomas d.thomas@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Taku Dzimwasha taku@icpublications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz c.dietz@icpublications.com ART DIRECTOR Jason Venkatasamy jason@icpublications.com STRATEGIC DIRECTOR Christian Udechukwu CONTRIBUTORS Giorgio Berti Tom Col l i ns James Gavin Ian Lewis Rafiq Raji Tom Minney Stephen Williams SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park College Road North Aston Clinton, HP22 5EZ UK Telephone: + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk www.africanbusinessmagazine. com/subscribe

GROUP PUBLISHER Omar Ben Yedder VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh s.manneh@icpublications.com SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER Darren Moore d.moore@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty Baytir Samba Nick Rosefield ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org NORTH AFRICA Néjib Ben Yedder n.benyedder@icpublications. com IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net Printers Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345 ©2018 IC Publications Ltd N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0320 K 89343 Mensuel: Octobre 2018 Dépôt légal

COVER STORY TAX: WHEN WILL AFRICA CASH IN?

BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE 4 News, deals and appointments from around Africa

COVER STORY: TAX 10 Boosting Africa’s tax revenues 16 Interview: Improving the effi ciency of Africa’s tax systems

THE BIG INTERVIEW 20 Slim Feriani, Minister for Industry and SMEs, Tunisia

FEATURES 28 Chinese influence grows 30 Where are African currencies heading? 32 China’s tech industry 37 Tutu Fellows column: Encouraging innovation 54 Closing Africa’s MSME finance gap 56 Safaricom’s competition battle 58 Turning round SAA 60 Interview: Lawrence Haddad,

Executive Director, GAIN 62 Botswana mulls hunting ban repeal

SPECIAL REPORT: OIL AND GAS 41 Africa’s oil and gas industry bounces back 52 Interview: Kola Karim, CEO, Shoreline Energy

SPECIAL REPORT: TOP BANKS 66 Africa’s top banks continue to grow 90 Interview: Dave van Niekirk, CEO, MyBucks

COUNTRYFILES 96 South Africa’s ‘Ramacession’ 98 Is Angola open for business? 100 Renewable power in Nigeria

ROUNDTABLE 104 How can Mozambique develop its agricultural sector?

BOOK REVIEW 112 Barclays in the age of the very free market

LAST WORD 114 Restoring Zimbabwe’s economy

Skip to main content