Page Text

GOLLANCZ SF & FANTASY AUGUST

Brandon Sanderson The Way of Kings

The brand new epic fantasy series from international bestseller Brandon Sanderson On a world scoured down to the rock by terrifying hurricanes, a young spearman is forced into an army, led to war against an enemy he doesn’t understand and doesn’t really want to fight. What happened deep in mankind’s past? Why did a mysterious order of knights, the Radiants, turn against mankind, and what happened to the magic they used to wield? The Way of Kings is epic fantasy at its best, and perfect for fans of Robert Jordan. Born in Nebraska, Brandon Sanderson is a New York Times bestselling author and has been hailed as the natural successor to Robert Jordan. He lives in Provo, Utah, USA. www.brandonsanderson.com

Fantasy Trade Paperback/Trade Paperback (export only) January 2011/August 2010 £14.99/£14.99 600pp 234 x 153mm 978 0 575 09734 6/978 0 575 09735 3 Markets: World XUSAC USA, Translation: JABberwocky Literary Agency; Serial: Orion

60 www.orionbooks.co.uk

James Barclay Elves: Once Walked With Gods

The first of a new fantasy trilogy from the Sergio Leone of the genre The elven race is in danger, fleeing across dimensions to escape the overwhelming power of the demonic Garonin. Now the weakened elves are tearing themselves apart in civil war, and human mercenaries have arrived to cause destruction. Only one elf can unite the race. And only one elf believes in him. An entertaining take on one of the main staple races of fantasy, James Barclay’s new Elves trilogy is perfect for fans of Tolkien and high fantasy, and is set to emulate the success of the Orcs series. James Barclay is the author of nine novels. He lives in Teddington, Middlesex. www.jamesbarclay.com

Fantasy Cased/Trade paperback August £18.99/£12.99 366pp 234 x 153mm 978 0 575 08501 5/978 0 575 08502 2 Markets: World USA, Translation & Serial: Orion