Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ Tel: +44 20 7841 3210 icpubs@icpublications.com africanbusinessmagazine.com FRANCE IC PUBLICATIONS 609 Bat A 77 rue Bayen 75017 PARIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 in fo@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder EDITOR IN CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder | o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR David Thomas | d.thomas@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Shoshana Kedem s.kedem@icpubications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz | c.dietz@icpublications.com STRATEGIC DIRECTOR Christian Udechukwu SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park, College Road, North Aston Clinton HP22 5EZ UK Telephone: + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk www.africanbusinessmagazine.com/subscribe GROUP PUBLISHER Omar Ben Yedder VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh | s.manneh@icpublications.com SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER Darren Moore | d.moore@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty, Baytir Samba, Nick Rosefield, Cécile Louédec ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org

NORTH AFRICA Néjib Ben Yedder n.benyedder@icpublications.com IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net

Printers Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium

N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0320 K 89343 Mensuel: Juillet 2019 Dépôt légal

All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345

©2019 IC Publications Ltd

CONTENTS Contents July 2019 Issue Nº 465 www.icpublications.com

Cover Story Switched on: Africa’s broadcasting revolution

Business intelligence 4 Ne ws and deals fro m around Africa

Cover story 10 Sw itched on: A frica’s broadcasting re volution 18 NB A pushes into Africa

Features 22 Et hiopia gambles on cheap labour 26 Co mbating corporate c orruption 29 In terview: Mthuli Ncube, minister o f fi nance,

Z imbabwe 32 Af rica’s budding c annabis market 36 Fa ll of Abraaj jolts p rivate equity 38 Af DB meets in Malabo

44 Wi nners of the African

Ba nker awards 46 In terview: Ken Njoroge, C EO, Cellulant 48 Ha rnessing digital technology 50 US m ust rebuild Africa ties 52 Go ld smuggling in Sudan 54 Ca shing in on cashews 57 Af DB promotes regional i ntegration 60 Ni geria woos infrastructure i nvestors

Countryfiles 62 Mo zambique bears cost of t wo cyclones 64 To go encourages private sector

Review 72 Ch airman Mao and Africa

Last Word 74 Cl eaning up African football

Skip to main content