Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

P N Review 248 volume 45 number 6 july – august 2019

0 Stella Halkyard Pictures from a Library 02 Editorial 03 Rod Mengham Cover Story

03 News & Notes 81 Les Murray In Memoriam


05 Vahni Capildeo Diving into What Wreck?

06 Michael Hersch Fawzi Karim

08 Sam Adams Letter from Wales

09 Judith Bishop Music and Meaning

11 Chris Edgoose The Abstract Dancer

12 John Clegg Elizabeth Daryush

13 Marius Kociejowski from ‘The Notebooks’

15 R. F. Langley from the Journals


17 Hélène Cixoux We Defy Augury translated by Beverley Bie Brahic

21 Carola Luther Letters to Rasool

28 Richard Hoffman Jubilee

29 Sarah Rothenberg Ashberyana

32 Anne Stevenson Two Poems

32 John Wilkinson Stranded on Bryher

33 Mícheál McCann In Conversation with Mark Doty

37 Ian Patterson Wyatt’s Voice

40 Michael Prior Three Poems

41 Jena Schmitt on Lola Ridge

45 Nell Prince Three Poems

46 Stav Poleg Three Poems

49 Gregory O’Brien Two Poems

50 Iain Bamforth Animal Spirits

54 Antonio Machado Campos de Soria translated by Virginia Falconer

56 Milan Děžinský Four Poems translated by Nathan Fields

57 Helen Tookey Almost Drowning

58 Lynne Hjelmgaard Three Poems

59 Kit Hanafin Eleven Poems

62 Duncan MacKay Ezra Pound's Fragments

64 Andy Croft Return to Moribunda

67 Anthony Walton Peter Buttigieg


71 David Herman on Lev Ozerov

72 Lucy Cheseldine on Javier Marías

73 Ian Pople on David Lehmann

74 David C. Ward on Two Poets

75 Tim Dooley on Peter Robinson

76 Edmund Prestwich on Helen Dunmore

77 Toby Garfitt on Ned Denny

78 Oliver Dixon on John Heath-Stubbs

79 Joseph Bullock on The Tempest


Richard Hoffman has published four volumes of poetry, Without Paradise, Gold Star Road, Emblem and Noon until Night. His other books include the memoirs Half the House and Love & Fury, and the collection Interference and Other Stories. Nell Prince has had poems published by Sidekick Books, The Interpreter's House, and The Moth, amongst others, and was runner-up in the 2016 Jane Martin Prize. She is working on a first collection. Michael Prior's poems have recently appeared in POETRY, Narrative, Ambit, The Academy of American Poet's Poem-a-Day series. His second collection, Burning Province, is forthcoming from McClelland & Stewart/Penguin Random House in 2020. Anthony Walton is the author of Mississippi:An American Journey. His poems, essays and reviews have appeared in The New York Times, The New Yorker, Harper’s, The Atlantic, among other magazines and journals. He teaches at Bowdoin College. Oliver Dixon is the author of the volume Human Form (Penned in the Margins) and the philosophy guide Who the Hell is Friedrich Nietzsche? (Bowden & Brazil).

on the cover : Francoise Lacroix, ‘Stairwell Paris’, courtesy of the artist.

Skip to main content