Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

BOARD OF GOVERNORS boardall@money.org

Gary Adkins, President PO Box 398018 Minneapolis, MN 55439-8018 Phone: 952-835-2244 • Fax: 952-835-2266 E-mail: adkins@money.org

Donald Kagin, Vice President 1550 G Tiburon Blvd., Suite 201 Tiburon, CA 94920-2521 Phone: 415-435-2601 E-mail: kagin@money.org

Steve Ellsworth, Governor PO Box 2869 Brentwood, TN 37024 Phone: 703-932-6331 E-mail: ellsworth@money.org

Brian Hendelson, Governor PO Box 6463 Bridgewater, NJ 08807-0463 Phone: 908-725-5600 E-mail: hendelson@money.org

John W. Highfill, Governor PO Box 25 Broken Arrow, OK 74013-0025 Phone: 918-254-8931 E-mail: highfill@money.org

Greg Lyon, Governor PO Box 775191 St. Louis, MO 63177-5191 Phone: 314-495-5760 E-mail: lyon@money.org

Paul Montgomery, Governor 2513 S. Kelly Ave., Suite 110 Edmond, OK 73013 Phone: 405-254-6877 E-mail: montgomery@money.org

Ralph Ross, Governor PO Box 16512 Sugar Land, TX 77496-6512 Phone: 713-829-8022 E-mail: ross@money.org

Thomas J. Uram, Governor 75 E. Marian St., Suite 208 Washington, PA 15301 Phone: 412-418-0783 E-mail: uram@money.org

The American Numismatic Association (ANA), a nonprofit, educational organization, was founded in 1891 and claims 25,000 members in the United States and throughout the world. The Association’s official magazine, The Numismatist, was first published in 1888 by Dr. George F. Heath. Chartered for 50 years by an Act of Congress in 1912 and renewed in perpetuity by an Act of Congress on April 10, 1962, the ANA is a mutual organization for the benefit of its members. It does not discriminate against applicants or employees on the basis of age, race, sex, sexual orientation, color, religion, national origin, disability or any other status protected by state or local law.

DEPARTMENTS

77 BOOKMARKS War of 1812 Treasury notes,

Canadian tokens, club issues. Cynthia Wood-Davies

78 MEMBERSHIP

79 MEMBERSHIP ANNIVERSARIES

80 CALENDAR

85 COUNTERFEIT DETECTION

1804 Draped Bust dollar.

86 CLASSIFIED ADS

88 COINS & COLLECTORS

Fond memories. Q. David Bowers

90 MASTERPIECE

1796 Myddleton token. Money Museum

91 GETTING STARTED

Popular errors. Mitch Sanders

97 COLLECTOR’S PRICE GUIDE

Half dollars, dollars, classic silver commemoratives.

109 QUIZ QUARTERS Chicago World’s Fair.

Myles Mellor

111 ADVE RTISER INDEX

112 HUMOR

Centennial State. Jerry Cestkowski

Colorado coins. PAGE 112

Contents c o n t i n u e d

Bygone era.

PAGE 88

Dejected dame.

PAGE 90

AUGUST 2019

Skip to main content