Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

UNITED KINGDOM IC P UBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ Te l: +44 20 7841 3210 icpubs@icpublications.com africanbusinessmagazine.com FRANCE IC P UBLICATIONS 609 Bat A 77 rue Bayen 75017 PARIS Te l: +33 1 44 30 81 00 i nfo@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder EDITOR IN CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder | o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR David Thomas | d.thomas@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Shoshana Kedem s.kedem@icpubications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz | c.dietz@icpublications.com STRATEGIC DIRECTOR Christian Udechukwu SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park, College Road, N orth Aston Clinton HP22 5EZ UK Telephone: + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk www.africanbusinessmagazine.com/subscribe GROUP PUBLISHER Omar Ben Yedder VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh | s.manneh@icpublications.com SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER Darren Moore | d.moore@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty, Baytir Samba, N ick Rosefield, Cécile Louédec ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org

NORTH AFRICA Néjib Ben Yedder n.benyedder@icpublications.com IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net

Printers Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium

N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0320 K 89343 Mensuel: Août/Septembre 2019 Dépôt légal

All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345

©2019 IC Publications Ltd

CONTENTS Contents August/September 2019 Issue Nº 466 www.icpublications.com

Cover Story After Collymore: Safaricom faces the future

Business intelligence 4 News and deals from around Africa

Cover story 10 A fter Collymore:

Safaricom faces the future 15 Tribute: Bob Collymore

Features 17 Interview: A ndrew Cowan,

Group MD and CEO, EABL 20 T he View: Free trade agreement is positive step for Nigeria 22 L agos urges commuters to use waterways 24 FIFA appointment shakes up African football 26 Kenya finance minister snared in dam probe 28 A frica and the IMF

after Lagarde 30 Africa’s Silicon Valleys r ipen for investment

Perspective 32 M ining judgment holds implications for multinationals

Special report Japan-Africa 35 T icad 7: Start of a new era for Japan and Africa

Countryfiles 48 Reforms embolden Ethiopia’s regionalists 50 N igeria moves to revive mining industry 52 C urrency problems hit

Z imbabwe’s gold miners

S pecial report Talent Matters: T he Employee Experience 55 H R is dead – Long live the employee experience 58 C areers in Africa Employer o f Choice 2019: M ethodology 60 Careers in Africa Employer of Choice 2019: Rankings 64 I nterview: John Lewis, MD, Aggreko Africa 66 I nterview: Edna Malavolonek,

H ead of HR, Aggreko Africa 68 C ase study: Bosch Africa 70 Purpology – the secret behind s uccessful challenger brands

Review 72 Holding bankers to account

Last Word 74 How can DRC overcome Ebola?

Skip to main content