Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ Tel: +44 20 7841 3210 icpubs@icpublications.com africanbusinessmagazine.com FRANCE IC PUBLICATIONS 609 Bat A 77 rue Bayen 75017 PARIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 i nfo@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder EDITOR IN CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder | o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR David Thomas | d.thomas@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Shoshana Kedem s.kedem@icpubications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz | c.dietz@icpublications.com STRATEGIC DIRECTOR Christian Udechukwu SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park, College Road, North Aston Clinton HP22 5EZ UK Telephone: + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk www.africanbusinessmagazine.com/subscribe GROUP PUBLISHER Omar Ben Yedder VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh | s.manneh@icpublications.com SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER Darren Moore | d.moore@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty, Baytir Samba, Nick Rosefield, Cécile Louédec ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org

NORTH AFRICA Néjib Ben Yedder n.benyedder@icpublications.com IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net

Printers Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium

N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0419 K 89806 Mensuel: Novembre 2019 Dépôt légal

All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345

©2019 IC Publications Ltd

CONTENTS Contents November 2019 Issue Nº 468 www.icpublications.com

K e n y a ’s meg a b a n k s s e t for continental expansion

Business intelligence 4 News and deals f rom around Africa

Cover story 8 Ke nya’s mega banks se t for continental expansion Star Interview 34 A kinwumi Adesina, President of the African Development Bank

Features 14 P rotecting Africa’s forests 16 Africa backs Gre ta Thunberg’s climate call 20 I nterview: Luis Alfonso de Alba,

UN Climate Summit Envoy 22 Inte rview: Tony Blair continue s African adventures 24 Can GM crops boost African agriculture? 26 Tech hope Andela sheds engineers

28 Chine se giant Alibaba sizes up contine nt 32 Ke nya Airways’ woes continue as CEO departs

Countryfiles 42 Ghana car industry revs up 44 Thomas Cook collapse shakes Gambia 48 Inte rnational hotel chains pile in

Special reports 52 South-South Inve stment 73 Singapore -Africa Book reviews 96 The memoirs of Gervais Koffi Djondo 97 The futu re of African oil

Last Word 98 Abiy ’s peace prize just the beginning

Skip to main content