Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ Tel: +44 20 7841 3210 icpubs@icpublications.com africanbusinessmagazine.com FRANCE IC PUBLICATIONS 609 Bat A 77 rue Bayen 75017 PARIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 info@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder EDITOR IN CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder | o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR David Thomas | d.thomas@icpublications.com EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Desné Masie | d.masie@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Shoshana Kedem | s.kedem@icpublications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz | c.dietz@icpublications.com STRATEGIC DIRECTOR Christian Udechukwu SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park, College Road, North Aston Clinton HP22 5EZ UK Telephone: + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk www.africanbusinessmagazine.com/subscribe GROUP PUBLISHER Omar Ben Yedder VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh | s.manneh@icpublications.com SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER Darren Moore | d.moore@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty, Baytir Samba, Nick Rosefield, Cécile Louédec ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org

NORTH AFRICA Néjib Ben Yedder n.benyedder@icpublications.com IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net

Printers Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium

N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0419 K 89806 Mensuel: Avril 2020 Dépôt légal

All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345

©2020 IC Publications Ltd

CONTENTS Contents April 2020 Issue Nº 472 www.icpublications.com

Cover story Beyond the barrel: Africa’s green renewal

Business intelligence 4 News and deals from around Africa

Cover story 19 Africa’s green renewal gathers pace

16 Africa braces for coronavirus

Energy 19 Interview with Philippe Valahu, CEO, PIDG 22 Transmission and distribution 24 Going solar in Zimbabwe 26 Tullow Oil fights for its future

Opinion 28 An Africa summit we could all support 30 Women’s issues are economic issues

37 E-commerce boosts fashion industry 40 Technology: Uganda

Special Report: Nigeria 42 Economic outlook 45 Energy sector 46 Business climate 48 Trade 50 Focus on Lagos ferries 53 Focus on Dangote Group 55 Innovation 58 Dangote spearheads tomato production 60 Nigeria’s ID card project

Countryfiles 66 On the road with Gambia’s boxing team 69 Kagame and Museveni hammer out differences

Review 72 Review of Capital and

Ideology by Thomas Piketty

Last Word 74 Protecting the vulnerable against coronavirus

Skip to main content