Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

BOARD OF GOVERNORS boardall@money.org

COL Steven Ellsworth, ret. President PO Box 2869 Brentwood, TN 37024 Phone: 703-932-6331 Email: butternut@butternut.org

Ralph Ross, Vice President PO Box 16512 Sugar Land, TX 77496-6512 Phone: 713-829-8022 Email: ross@money.org

Michael L. Ellis, Governor 320 Campbell Dr., Apt. 213 Camilla, GA 31730-6394 Phone 229-319-8130 Email: ellis@money.org

Muriel Eymery, Governor 22/F, 181 Johnston Rd. Wanchai, Hong Kong Phone: +33 (0) 6 84 03 05 43 Email: eymery@money.org

Mary Lynn Garrett, Governor 1707 Nicholasville Rd., Suite 1 Lexington, KY 40503-1424 Phone: 859-276-1551 Email: mlgarrett@money.org

Greg Lyon, Governor PO Box 775191 St. Louis, MO 63177-5191 Phone: 314-495-5760 Email: lyon@money.org

Clifford Mishler, Governor PO Box 316, 105 N. Main St. Iola, WI 54945-0316 Phone: 715-445-5050 ­Email: mishler@money.org

Rob Oberth, Governor 1185 Cobb Pkwy. N. Marietta, GA 30062 Phone: 404-556-2495 ­Email: oberth@money.org

Shanna Schmidt, Governor 805 Lake St., PMB 321 Oak Park, IL 60301-1031 Phone: 708-655-4836 Email: schmidt@money.org

The American Numismatic Association (ANA), a nonprofit, educational organization, was founded in 1891 and claims 29,000 ­members in the United States and throughout the world. The Association’s ­official magazine, The Numis­matist, was first published in 1888 by Dr. George F. Heath. Chartered for 50 years by an Act of Congress in 1912 and renewed in per­petuity by an Act of ­Congress on May 10, 1962, the ANA is a mutual organization for the benefit of its members. It does not discriminate against ­applicants or employees on the basis of age, race, sex, sexual ­orientation, color, religion, national ­origin, disability or any other status protected by state or local law.

DEPARTMENTS

71 COUNTERFEIT DETECTION 1919-S Buffalo nickel.

73 COINS & COLLECTORS A very good year.

Q. David Bowers

75 AROUND THE WORLD A king’s ransom.

Ursula Kampmann

77 CLASSIFIED ADS

79 GETTING STARTED Numismatic anniversaries.

Mitch Sanders

81 COLLECTOR’S PRICE GUIDE Gold $1, $2 1 ⁄ 2, $3, $4, $5,

$10, $20, commemoratives, pioneer gold.

95 ADVE­RTISER INDEX

96 HUMOR Hobby headlines.

Jerry Cestkowski

Morgan comeback. PAGE 79

A look ahead. PAGE 96

Contents continued

Bogus bison.

PAGE 71

Austrian prison. PAGE 75

JANUARY 2021

Skip to main content