Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ Tel: +44 20 7841 3210 icpubs@icpublications.com https://african.business FRANCE IC PUBLICATIONS 609 Bat A 77 rue Bayen 75017 PARIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 info@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder EDITOR IN CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder | o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR David Thomas | d.thomas@icpublications.com EDITORIAL DIRECTOR Desné Masie | d.masie@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Shoshana Kedem | s.kedem@icpublications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz | c.dietz@icpublications.com STRATEGIC DIRECTOR Christian Udechukwu SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park, College Road, North Aston Clinton HP22 5EZ UK Telephone: + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk https://african.business/subscribe GROUP PUBLISHER Omar Ben Yedder VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh | s.manneh@icpublications.com SENIOR PROJECT MANAGER Darren Moore | d.moore@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty, Baytir Samba, Nick Rosefield ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org

NORTH AFRICA Néjib Ben Yedder n.benyedder@icpublications.com IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net

Printers Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium

N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0419 K 89806 Mensuel: Février 2021 Dépôt légal

All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345

©2021 IC Publications Ltd

CONTENTS Contents February 2021 Issue Nº 480 https://african.business

Cover story Bouncing back? Africa faces up to the cost of Covid-19

Business Intelligence 4 News and deals from around Africa

Cover Story: Africa in 2021 12 Bouncing back? Africa faces up to the cost of Covid-19 20 Interview: Miguel Azevedo,

Head of Corporate and Investment Banking for Africa (ex South Africa), Cit igroup

Opinion 23 Africa must hope for best and prepare for worst 26 How should Africa deal with a resurgent China? 28 Four lessons Africa should learn from the pandemic

Briefing: South Africa 30 Ramaphosa’s fight for the future of South Africa 34 Can renewables solve South

Africa’s energy problems? 36 South African companies make waves in technology

Features 38 African investors ride the Bitcoin tiger 40 Are electric cars a threat to

Nigeria’s oil economy?

42 Solving Africa’s vaccine storage problem 44 World Bank faces credibility crisis 46 AfCFTA launches –

now we must make it succeed 48 Interview: Pamela Coke-Hamilton,

Executive Director, International Trade Centre (ITC) 54 Briefing: Mixed outlook for

African mining 58 Interview: Ibrahima Cheikh Diong,

Director General, Africa Risk Capacity Group 60 Interview: Matt Lilley,

CEO Africa, Prudential

Countryfiles 62 Museveni wins election but Uganda’s woes remain 64 Nigeria reopens land borders to trade 66 Ethiopian telecoms open for business

Book Review 72 Formation: The Making of Nigeria from Jihad to Amalgamation

Editor’s View 74 Africa reels under second wave

Skip to main content