Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ Tel: +44 20 7841 3210 icpubs@icpublications.com https://african.business FRANCE IC PUBLICATIONS 609 Bat A 77 rue Bayen 75017 PARIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 info@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder PUBLISHER & EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder | o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR David Thomas | d.thomas@icpublications.com EDITOR-AT-LARGE Hichem Ben Yaïche | h.benyaiche@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Shoshana Kedem | s.kedem@icpublications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz | c.dietz@icpublications.com HEAD OF BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE Desné Masie | d.masie@icpublications.com VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh | s.manneh@icpublications.com PROJECTS DIRECTOR Zine Ben Yahmed | z.benyahmed@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty, Baytir Samba, Nick Rosefield ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon| s.dillon@icpublications.com TUNISIA Slah Nouri | s.nouri@icpublications.com Néjib Ben Yedder | n.benyedder@icpublications.com Mohamed Ali Aboudi | m.aboudi@icpublications.com Tel: +216 98 351 844 App A1-6, Imm. Yasmine Tower, Boulevard de la Terre, Centre Urbain Nord, Tunis 1082, Tunisia GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park, College Road, North Aston Clinton HP22 5EZ UK Telephone + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk https://african.business/subscribe PRINTERS Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium

All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345

N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0419 K 89806 Mensuel: Mai 2021 Dépôt légal

©2021 IC Publications Ltd

CONTENTSContents

Cover story Flare-up: Insurgency threatens Mozambique’s LNG future

Business Intelligence 4 News and deals from around Africa

Cover story: Mozambique 12 Flare-up: Insurgency threatens

Mozambique’s LNG future

Opinion 18 Chinese visitors could be future for African tourism 20 Can agriculture solve

Africa’s jobs crisis?

Features 22 Private equity snaps up opportunities in Southern Africa 24 Ugandan firms eye oil sector deals 26 Cape Town non-profit helps SMEs raise their game 28 Africa’s space firms poised for lift-off in satellite scramble

Special report: Top companies 31 Market capitalisation of Africa’s top companies soars

Special report: African ports 46 Africa’s ports shrug off

Covid-19 and Suez crisis 48 Infographic: Africa’s ports adapt to global trends 52 Creating infrastructure to boost growth

Countryfiles 62 Nigeria’s controversial refinery rehabilitation 64 Moroccan produce satisfies

UK’s post-Brexit appetite

Book review 72 How to Avoid a Climate

Disaster by Bill Gates

Editor’s view 74 Which way forward for

Chad after death of president?

Skip to main content