Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ Tel: +44 20 7841 3210 icpubs@icpublications.com https://african.business FRANCE IC PUBLICATIONS 609 Bat A 77 rue Bayen 75017 PARIS Tel: +33 1 44 30 81 00 info@icpublications.com www.icpublications.com FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder PUBLISHER & EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder | o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR David Thomas | d.thomas@icpublications.com EDITOR-AT-LARGE Hichem Ben Yaïche | h.benyaiche@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Shoshana Kedem | s.kedem@icpublications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz | c.dietz@icpublications.com HEAD OF BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE Desné Masie | d.masie@icpublications.com VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh | s.manneh@icpublications.com PROJECTS DIRECTOR Zine Ben Yahmed | z.benyahmed@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty, Baytir Samba, Nick Rosefield ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon| s.dillon@icpublications.com TUNISIA Slah Nouri | s.nouri@icpublications.com Néjib Ben Yedder | n.benyedder@icpublications.com Mohamed Ali Aboudi | m.aboudi@icpublications.com Tel: +216 98 351 844 App A1-6, Imm. Yasmine Tower, Boulevard de la Terre, Centre Urbain Nord, Tunis 1082, Tunisia GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park, College Road, North Aston Clinton HP22 5EZ UK Telephone + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk https://african.business/subscribe PRINTERS Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium

All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345

N° DE COMMISSION PARITAIRE 0419 K 89806 Mensuel: Juin 2021 Dépôt légal

©2021 IC Publications Ltd

CONTENTSContents

Cover story Lift off! African brands defy the pandemic

Business Intelligence 4 News and deals from around

Africa Cover story: Africa’s Top Brands 12 Pandemic drives African brands story Opinion 32 Can China-Africa shift to become Africa-China? 34 Chinese lending decline leaves huge infrastructure gap 36 Intra-African trade offers buffer against recessions Features 38 Telecoms bidders shun Ethiopia 40 Africa’s cities tool up to face climate crisis 44 Interview: Ousmane Diagana,

Vice-President for West and Central Africa, World Bank 46 Kenya’s Cellulant eyes faster growth with new leader

Countryfiles 48 Angola’s reform plans face challenges 50 Igbo apprenticeship system fuels

Nigeria’s entrepreneurs Talent Agenda Supplement: The future of work 52 How will Covid-19 affect the nature of work?

64 Has the pandemic derailed the diversity agenda? 65 The paradox of workplace engagement and employee wellbeing 70 The rise of the empathetic leader Talent Agenda Supplement:

Interviews 54 Aggreko: Creating a competitive edge out of talent 58 Ecobank takes progressive approach to diversity and leadership development 60 Jules Ngankam, AGF Group CEO:

Technology will enable SMEs to reinvent themselves 62 James Shepherd, CEO, Altaaqa

Global Energy Services: Power sector holds bright prospects for African talent 66 Jonathan Ojany, VP and Global

Head, Center Operations and Strategy, Coca-Cola: Agility is key to survive a crisis 68 Emma Wade-Smith, UK Trade

Commissioner for Africa: The international perspective Review 72 Do Not Disturb by Michela Wrong Editor’s View 74 Ramaphosa’s corruption battle kicks up a gear

Skip to main content