Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text

EDITORIAL 020 7501 6745 Editor-in-chief Chris Bennett 020 7501 6660 chris.bennett@markallengroup.com Editor Simon Jones 020 7501 6667 simon.jones@markallengroup.com Clinical editor Bill Harvey 07766 508458 bill.harvey@markallengroup.com Features & education editor Mike Hale 020 7501 6670 mike.hale@markallengroup.com Content editor Andrew McClean 020 7501 6788 andrew.mcclean@markallengroup.com Reporter Yiannis Kotoulas 020 7501 6663 yiannis.kotoulas@markallengroup.com Production editor Gary O’Connell 020 7501 6706 gary.o’connell@markallengroup.com Art editor Sara Challinor 020 7501 6666 sara.challinor@markallengroup.com ADVERTISING & SPONSORSHIP Sales director Darren Ward 020 7501 6668 darren.ward@markallengroup.com Display sales executive Joseph Lever 020 7501 6708 joseph.lever@markallengroup.com RECRUITMENT & CLASSIFIED Key account executive Daniel Doherty 020 7501 6686 daniel.doherty@markallengroup.com Managing director Anthony Kerr 020 7501 6726 anthony.kerr@markallengroup.com Group production manager Kyri Apostolou 020 7501 6779 kyri.apostolou@markallengroup.com Production director Richard Hamshere Chief executive officer Ben Allen Chairman Mark Allen EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD Will Ayliffe PhD FRCS FRCOphth DO; Sally Bates FBDO; Dr Frank Eperjesi PhD BSc MCOptom FAAO; Professor Bernard Gilmartin PhD FCOptom FAAO; Graham Hutchison MBA; Professor Mo Jalie SMSA FBDO FCGI MIMgt; Dr Lyndon Jones PhD FCOptom DCLP DOrth FAAO; Geoff Roberson BSc FCOptom; Dr Steve Taylor PhD MSc FCOptom; Graeme Young MPhil FCOptom DCLP FAAO SUBSCRIPTIONS 0800 137201 Subscribe or renew 01722 716997 subscriptions@markallengroup.com BACK ISSUES 01722 716997 REPRINTS 020 7501 6790 ISSN 0030.3968

Part of www.markallengroup.com

Optician is published every Friday © 2021 MA Healthcare Ltd St Judes Church, Dulwich Road, London SE24 0PB. Telephone 020 7738 5454 Website: www.opticianonline.net ISSN 0030.3968 Printed in Britain by Pensord Press, Tram Road, Pontllanfraith, Gwent, NP12 2YA Please read our privacy policy at privacypolicy.markallengroup.com. This will explain how we process, use and safeguard your data facebook.com/opticianonline

7 DAYS

To read the full stories and keep up to date on the latest news and views visit opticianonline.net

Mask wearing continues in heathcare

Following calls from the College of Optometrists and other healthcare organisations, NHS England has reminded the public that face masks will continue to be required in healthcare settings.

The legal requirement to wear a face covering in enclosed public spaces ended on Monday, July 19. Prior to this, a letter signed by the College alongside the British Medical Association and British Dental Association, among others, called on the Prime Minister to make face masks mandatory in healthcare settings.

NHS England then released a statement that explained its infection prevention control guidelines and hospital visiting guidance were to remain in place for all staff and visitors to all healthcare settings.

Ruth May, chief nursing officer for England, said: ‘It is important for the public to continue to play their part when visiting NHS and care settings to help protect our staff and patients.’

Amber phase continues as restrictions lift Practices should continue to operate in the amber phase and maintain high infection control standards this summer, according to the Association of British Dispensing Opticians and the College of Optometrists.

The advice was issued after lockdown restrictions lifted in parts of the UK and should be followed alongside national eye care procedures and the GOC’s supporting statements. Measures included social distancing, hand washing, surface disinfection, patient triage and maintenance of good ventilation.

All staff should wear a face mask and follow the correct use of personal protective equipment, while patients were recommended to wear a face covering while at the practice.

Complaints drop during pandemic Data presented by the Optical Consumer Complaints Service (OCCS) at the GOC Council meeting showed there had been a 12.4% decrease in the number of complaints it had received during

LETTERS Coach journey Moneo recently lamented the mentor/coaching paradox (Optician 02.07.21) that besets our industry and the profession it seeks to serve. I thought it was worth following up.

At the top tier of just about any sort of endeavour, you’ll find that the top performers all have coaches. Pianists, orators and athletes all have coaches. It would be weird if we heard of someone on stage or on the field who didn’t have one.

Yet, in the world of business they are often seen as the exception.

Part of the reason is because work feels like an extension of something we’ve been doing our whole lives. Figure skating isn’t like school, but showing up at work seems to be. ‘I’ve got this,’ is a badge of honour.

Part of the reason is that a few coaches have made claims that stretch belief, and we’re not actually sure what they do. It doesn’t help that there’s no easy way to identify what sort of coach we need or what we’re going to get.

It turns out, the people with the potential to benefit most from a coach are often the most hesitant precisely because of what coaching involves.

Pick of the posts

Talking about our challenges. Setting goals. Acknowledging that we can get better. Eagerly seeking responsibility.

And yet we avert our eyes and hesitate. It might be because having a coach might be interpreted as a sign of weakness. What if we acknowledge our challenges but fail to overcome them? It could be that we don’t want to cause change to happen, or that we’re worried that we will.

One company I admire believes in coaches so much they’ve put several on staff, ensuring their leadership all benefit from one. But mostly, it’s something we have to pay for ourselves. And so, paying for a coach, for something that’s hard to measure, which might be socially awkward, to get better at something that feels normal – combine that with a hesitancy to ask for help – it’s a wonder anyone has a coach.

The paradox is that the very things that hold us back are the reasons we need a coach in the first place. Julian Wiles Performance Lenses/Younger Optics Cheltenham

4 OPTICIAN 23 July 2021

opticianonline.net

Skip to main content