Skip to main content
Read page text

Page Text


UNITED KINGDOM IC PUBLICATIONS 7 Coldbath Square, London EC1R 4LQ Tel: +44 20 7841 3210 icpubs@icpublications.com https://african.business FOUNDER Afif Ben Yedder PUBLISHER & EDITOR-IN-CHIEF Omar Ben Yedder | o.benyedder@icpublications.com EDITOR David Thomas | d.thomas@icpublications.com EDITOR-AT-LARGE Hichem Ben Yaïche | h.benyaiche@icpublications.com DIGITAL EDITOR Shoshana Kedem | s.kedem@icpublications.com SUB EDITOR Charles Dietz | c.dietz@icpublications.com DESIGN J Ve n k a t a s a my | j.ven katasamy@icpublications.com HEAD OF BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE Desné Masie | d.masie@icpublications.com VP DEVELOPMENT Saliba Manneh | s.manneh@icpublications.com PROJECTS DIRECTOR Zine Ben Yahmed | z.benyahmed@icpublications.com ADVERTISING SALES DIRECTORS Medrine Chitty, Baytir Samba, Nick Rosefield ADVERTISING advertising@icpublications.com DISTRIBUTION distribution@icpublications.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Sophie Dillon| s.dillon@icpublications.com TUNISIA Slah Nouri | s.nouri@icpublications.com Néjib Ben Yedder | n.benyedder@icpublications.com Mohamed Ali Aboudi | m.aboudi@icpublications.com GHANA – SPECIAL PROJECTS AND ADVERTISING Silvia Salvetti Ollennu Top Reports Tel: +233 24 910 5995 top@topreports.org IC EVENTS info@ic-events.net SUBSCRIPTIONS IC Publications Webscribe Unit 4, College Business Park, College Road, North Aston Clinton HP22 5EZ UK Telephone + 44 (0) 1442 820580 contact@webscribe.co.uk https://african.business/subscribe PRINTERS Roularta Media Group Meensesteenweg 300 8800 Roeselare Belgium

All pictures AFP unless indicated. Registered with the British Library. ISSN 0142-9345

©2022 IC Publications Ltd

CONTENTSContents

Cover story: Africa enters the metaverse

Business Intelligence 4 News and deals from around Africa Cover story: Africa and the metaverse 14 Can Africa enter the metaverse? Special reports 30 Transport and logistics: Overcoming pandemic upheaval 48 Rwanda: 18-page focus on the country’s growth prospects Focus on Namibian resources 42 Namibia hits first oil 44 Namibia eyes green hydrogen future Opinion 20 EU’s Africa pledges fall short 22 Africa must learn to compete with Chinese firms 24 How lopsided trade agreements harm Africa

Features 26 SAA and Kenya Airways go into partnership 28 Ghana slams ratings agencies 34 Nigerian growth grinds to a halt 36 Interview: Slim Feriani,

CEO, Djibouti Sovereign Fund 38 China tightens grip on

Africa’s lithium 46 Nigerian punters bet big on Afcon

Countryfiles 66 Nigeria: Can farmers repay their loans? 68 DRC: Mystery over coup plot Obituary 70 Emmanuel Tumusiime-Mutebile, Governor, Bank of Uganda Book review 72 A Bigger Picture by Vanessa Nakate

Editor’s View 74 Kenya slams invasion of Ukraine

My Bookmarks


Skip to main content